I did something

Standard

So, I have always wanted to paint. When I was young my uncle and his family came to visit us in Germany. Why we were in Germany is another blog post altogether,  but I digress. My uncle was an art teacher and is still a most amazing artist.

While they were visiting he took me out painting. I am not sure why exactly. Maybe I expressed interest. Maybe the teacher in him wanted to teach and I was a willing subject. Who knows 🤷‍♂️🤷‍♀️?

The result of this outing is a water color. This water color was also, eventually, framed. How soon, I have no idea but the importance a frame puts on something is immense. It validates the product as “artful” to someone. And, as they say, art is in the eye of the beholder. This water color hung in my bedroom for years. And for years I didn’t paint. But I wanted to. I don’t know why I didn’t.

I tell this vignette to say I have recently started painting.  Well, I use that term “painting” loosely.  I am applying paint to canvas. I tried to water color again but the media is elusive to me. I am not patient or talented in a “fine art” work of way. But that is also a different blog post.

I am abstracting, taking wierd ideas and putting them on canvas. Getting spur of the moment hits of inspiration and throwing it on canvas to see if it sticks. Some of it I like (that is usually very unplanned) and then grow to love after days spent reflecting on it.

I’m super lucky. My husband tells me when he thinks the work is great or that some of my ideas are awesome. I second guess his response to my art. But I guess you could say his words are the frame that my painting needs. They are the validation that says “what I am creating is art”. And when he encourages me to make more I am once again buoyed as opposed to sinking in self doubt.

I have shared my most recent creation because I wasn’t sure of it. I finished it. Looked at it (& the green stain of paint on the floor) and thought, “hum, idk?”

So, I popped it up on the cat tree. The cat doesn’t much like it so it doesn’t get used but there again digression and a story for another post.

Anyway, it is sitting on top on the cat tree. This give me a better view of it to really ascertain if I like it or not. My husband walks into the room and says, with all sincerity, “I like that a lot”.

The frame. It is done. Now where to hang it.

Leave a comment